Listed below are the most recent winners for the Charles E. Green Awards for Excellence in Journalism, as awarded annually by the Headliners Foundation, in association with the Texas Associated Press Managing Editors (TAPME) and the Texas Associated Press Broadcasters (TAPB). Select the category you wish to inspect and you will access that winner’s entry materials, along with comment from the category judge(s) and the judge’s bio.  Winners of previous contests can be accessed in the “Recent Contests” area to the right on this screen.

Contest Winners

Texas Associated Press Broadcasters (TAPB)

Best Spot News Coverage by a Station (Radio)

“May Flooding in North Texas”

KRLD Staff
KRLD AM, Dallas-Fort Worth 

Best Investigative Report (Television)

“Racial Profiling Whitewash”

Brian Collister, Ben Friberg, Joe Ellis, Josh Hinkle & Chad Cross
KXAN-TV, Austin 

Best Reporter (Television)

Matt Rist

Matt Rist
KOSA-TV, Odessa 

Best Reporter (Radio)

Kate McGee

Kate McGee
KUT 90.5 FM, Austin 

Best Spot News Coverage by a Station (Television)

“Memorial Day Floods”

Philip Bruce and Staff
KHOU-TV, Houston 

Texas Associated Press Managing Editors (TAPME)

Star Investigative Report of the Year

“Missed Signs, Fatal Consequences”

Andrea Ball and Eric Dexheimer
Austin American-Statesman 

Star Photojournalist of the Year

Smiley Pool

Smiley Pool
The Dallas Morning News 

Star Opinion Writer of the Year

Lisa Falkenberg

Lisa Falkenberg
Houston Chronicle 

Star Reporter of the Year

Brian Rosenthal

Brian Rosenthal
Houston Chronicle 

Star Breaking News Report of the Year

“North Texas Tornadoes – Total Devastation”

Staff Writers
The Dallas Morning News 

Overall Excellence Across the Associated Press Organizations

Joint Competition: TAPB and TAPME 
Best Online Package

“Kids or Criminals: Growing Up and Getting Out”

Jennifer Emily and Diane Jennings
The Dallas Morning News 


Foundation Blog