

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

Contact: Alison Unger, (512) 445-4520 aunger@headlinersfoundation.org

HEADLINERS FOUNDATION ANNOUNCES ANNUAL SCHOLARSHIPS AWARDED TO TEXAS' BRIGHTEST STUDENT JOURNALISTS

AUSTIN, TX (June 4, 2023) - The Headliners Foundation of Texas is pleased to announce recipients of almost \$100,000 in scholarships for the 2023-2024 academic year. The awards go to 22 undergraduates and one graduate student from schools throughout the state who show outstanding potential in journalism.

In addition to strong academic records and writing ability, applicants were expected to have demonstrated their interest in journalism, usually by working on student media or as interns for professional media outlets. The scholarships range from \$3,000 to \$6,000 each. The recipients are:

Sarah and Ernest Butler Scholar

Jacquelyn Burrer, Carrollton, TX – Texas State University

George Christian Scholar

Molly-Jo Tilton, Converse, TX – The University of Texas at Austin

Stuart Long Memorial Scholarship for Aspiring Journalists

Madelyn Weirich, Iola, TX – Texas State University Neha Gopal, College Station, TX – Texas A&M University

Verne Lundquist Scholar

George Schroeder, Waco, TX – Baylor University

George A. McElroy Scholar

Kirk Ogunrinde, Arlington, TX – Southern Methodist University

Ellen and Mark Morrison Scholar

Mantra Dave, Austin, TX – The University of Texas at Austin

Darrell K. Royal Scholar

Emma Hutchinson, Austin, TX – The University of Texas at Austin

Bess Whitehead Scott Scribes Scholar

Jill Ament, San Marcos, TX – The University of Texas at Austin

Sam S. Wood Scholar

Yiting "Sarah" Wang, Waco, TX, Baylor University

2023-24 Founders Scholars

The Founders Scholarships are named in remembrance of the contributions of early benefactors of the Headliners Foundation whose gifts provided the initial funding vehicle for Foundation scholarship program. We honor their commitment to support journalism education: Jimmy Banks, Barry Bishop, Dolly and Paul Bolton, John "Brick" Elliott, Wilbur Evans, Jack E. Keever, George Moore, and Joe Roddy. For more information about all the Foundation's scholarship namesakes, please visit https://www.headlinersfoundation.org/scholarships-1.

Faith Dufresne, Austin, TX, The University of Texas at Austin
Abbey Ferguson, San Dimas, CA, Baylor University
Ariadna Garza, Fort Worth, TX, Texas Wesleyan University
Kaity Kempf, Belton, TX, Baylor University
Lucero Ponce, Laredo, TX, The University of Texas at Austin
Kelsey Roberson, Cypress, TX, The University of Texas at Tyler
Leila Saidane, Austin, TX, The University of Texas at Austin
Hope Unger, Austin, TX, The University of Texas at Austin
Chyna Vargas, Lubbock, TX, Texas Tech University

In addition to the recipients noted above, the Foundation will award the Jack Keever Scholarship to the managing editor of *The Daily Texan* at UT-Austin each semester of the 2023-2024 academic year. Brief bios and photos of the scholarship recipients are poste at www.headlinersfoundation.org.

Applications were received from students attending Baylor University, Southern Methodist University, Texas A&M University, Texas Christian University, Texas State University, Texas Tech University, Texas Wesleyan University, University of North Texas, The University of Texas at Austin, The University of Texas at Rio Grande Valley, and The University of Texas at Tyler.

"As the industry changes, we continue to see more innovation and creativity from our young journalists," said Patti C. Smith, Chair of the Foundation's Academic Excellence Committee, and International Media Consultant. "The Foundation's application process is extremely competitive, and this year's scholarship recipients are clearly committed to telling important stories with integrity," Smith said.

"We are proud to be awarding more scholarships for the 2023-24 school year than ever before," said Patti Ohlendorf, Chair of the Foundation's Board of Governors. "We were inspired by the number of outstanding applicants this year, and we are delighted to support these 23 talented student journalists," Ohlendorf said. "They are the future of this industry."

For more information about the scholarship program and a listing of prior years' scholarship recipients, please visit www.headlinersfoundation.org.

-30-

About The Headliners Foundation of Texas Founded in 1983, the Headliners Foundation of Texas is a 501(c)(3) that promotes excellence in journalism by providing scholarships to promising communications students; recognizing outstanding works of journalism and leaders in the industry; and sponsoring special projects that promote journalistic excellence and preserve history.