

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

Contact: Alison Unger (512) 445-4520 aunger@headlinersfoundation.org

HEADLINERS FOUNDATION RECOGNIZES TEXAS' BEST JOURNALISTS

AUSTIN (April 25, 2023) — The <u>Headliners Foundation of Texas</u> has announced the winners of its statewide Charles E. Green Award contest, recognizing the best of the best in Texas journalism from calendar year 2022. The awards are presented in partnership with the Texas Association of Broadcasters and the Texas Managing Editors organizations.

Winners were chosen in six categories from broadcast, print and online formats, and each will receive a \$1,000 cash prize, a beautiful, sculpted trophy, and recognition at the Foundation's annual Mike Quinn Awards luncheon on October 14th at the Headliners Club in Austin.

This year's Charles E. Green Award winners are:

Best Television Reporter

Tony Plohetski KVUE-TV, Austin

Best Investigative Report by a Television Station

"Still Practicing: Tracking Problem Doctors"

Matt Grant, Dalton Huey, Chris Nelson, Josh Hinkle

KXAN-TV, Austin

Best Breaking News Coverage by a Television Station

"Uvalde School Massacre" KPRC 2 News Staff KPRC 2 News, Houston

Best Radio Reporter

Dennis Foley KTSA, San Antonio

Best Breaking News Coverage by a Radio Station

Joey Palacios

"Death toll rises to 53 after dozens of migrants found trapped in tractor trailer in San Antonio" KSTX Texas Public Radio, San Antonio

Star Reporter of the Year

Tony Plohetski
Austin American-Statesman

Star Investigative Report of the Year

"Operation Lone Star"

Perla Trevizo, Lomi Kriel, Jolie McCullough, Andrew Rodriguez Calderon, Keri Blakinger, Marilyn Thompson, James Barragan and Davis Winkle Texas Tribune

Star Photojournalist of the Year

Sam Owens
San Antonio Express-News

Star Opinion Writer of the Year

Carlos Rodriguez
The Brownsville Herald

Star Breaking News Report of the Year

Eric E. Garcia, Christian Betancourt, Shane Monaco "Bell County Tornado" Temple Daily Telegram

Overall Excellence Across Both Organizations Joint Competition: TAB and TME - Best Online Package

Josh Hinkle, Kate Winkle, Haley Cihock, John Thomas "Stop Mass Shootings: The Search for Solutions" KXAN-TV, Austin

The Green Awards contest places the division-level winners of statewide awards from the Texas Managing Editors and the Texas Association of Broadcasters in a head-to-head competition. Small, medium and large markets compete, with one winner in each of the six categories selected by judges from across the nation who are recognized journalism experts. In addition to the Green Award winners, division-level winners in each category receive a \$500 cash prize.

"2022 was an extraordinary year for Texas journalism," said Fred Zipp, vice chair of the Foundation and chair of the Professional Excellence Committee, which oversees the awards process. "From natural disasters to tragic mass shootings, Texas journalists produced impactful, thought-provoking work that captured our attention," Zipp said. "We are proud to provide well-deserved recognition to these exceptionally talented individuals."

"Our partnerships with TME and TAB provide an opportunity for the Foundation to broaden its reach and recognize journalists from different markets throughout the state," said Patti Ohlendorf, Chair of the Foundation's Board of Governors. "The Charles E. Green Awards are an important part of our core mission, and we are delighted to honor these journalists for their outstanding work," Ohlendorf said.

Information on each of these award winners, along with judges' comments and links to the award-winning stories, is posted on the Foundation website at www.headlinersfoundation.org.

-30-

About The Headliners Foundation of Texas: Founded in 1983, the Headliners Foundation of Texas is a 501(c)(3) that promotes excellence in journalism by providing scholarships to promising undergraduate journalism and communication students; recognizing outstanding works of journalism and leaders in the industry; and sponsoring special projects that promote journalistic excellence and preserve history.