

#### FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

Contact: Alison Unger (512) 445-4520 aunger@headlinersfoundation.org

#### HEADLINERS FOUNDATION RECOGNIZES TEXAS' BEST JOURNALISTS

AUSTIN (May 14, 2022) — The <u>Headliners Foundation of Texas</u> has announced the winners of its statewide Charles E. Green Award contest, recognizing the best of the best in Texas journalism from calendar year 2021. The awards are presented in partnership with the Texas Association of Broadcasters and the Texas Managing Editors organizations.

Winners were chosen in six categories from broadcast, print and online formats, and each will receive a \$1,000 cash prize, a beautiful, sculpted trophy, and recognition at the Foundation's annual Mike Quinn Awards luncheon in the fall at the Headliners Club in Austin.

This year's Charles E. Green Award winners are:

## **Best Television Reporter**

Christian Flores KEYE-TV, Austin

## Best Investigative Report by a Television Station

"Mental Competency Consequences: The Hidden and Unreliable Data Texas Tracks... or Doesn't"
Josh Hinkle, David Barer, Ben Friberg, Eric Henrikson, Rachel Gale
KXAN-TV, Austin

#### Best Breaking News Coverage by a Television Station

"Northwest Austin Triple Murder" Tony Plohetski, Heikki Mustonen KVUE-TV, Austin

## **Best Radio Reporter**

Alan Scaia KRLD News Radio 1080, Dallas-Fort Worth

# Best Breaking News Coverage by a Radio Station

"Timberview High School Shooting" Eric Bushman, Clayton Neville, Kat Boonzaier WBAP News/Talk 820 AM, Dallas/Fort Worth

**Star Reporter of the Year** 

Alex Stuckey
Houston Chronicle

## Star Investigative Report of the Year

Perla Trevizo, Mike Hixenbaugh, Suzy Khimm, Lexi Churchill, Ren Larson Texas Tribune

### Star Photojournalist of the Year

Stuart Villanueva

Galveston County Daily News

## Star Opinion Writer of the Year

Chris Tomlinson

Houston Chronicle

#### Star Breaking News Report of the Year

"Winter Storm Uri"
Staff
Corpus Christi Caller-Times

# **Best Online/Special Content Package**

"How Houston Floods"
Emily Foxhall, Yoli Martinez, Hilary Fung, Alexandra Kanik,
Ken Ellis, Mark Mulligan, Jasmine Goldband
Houston Chronicle

The Green Awards contest places the division-level winners of statewide awards from the Texas Managing Editors and the Texas Association of Broadcasters in a head-to-head competition. Small, medium and large markets compete, with one winner in each of the six categories selected by judges from across the nation who are recognized journalism experts. In addition to the Green Award winners, division-level winners in each category receive a \$500 cash prize.

"Texas journalists continue to produce high-quality, thought-provoking work," said Fred Zipp, chair of the Foundation's Professional Excellence Committee, which oversees the awards process. "Each year, the Headliners Foundation is proud to shine a spotlight on Texas' best journalists and their outstanding stories," Zipp said. "These journalists have proven that reporters are still driven by integrity and a yearning for truth," Zipp said.

"We are delighted to recognize these extraordinary journalists," said Patti Ohlendorf, Chair of the Foundation's Board of Governors. "The Charles E. Green Awards are a crucial part of our mission to promote excellence in Texas journalism," said Ohlendorf. "Our awards program not only enables us to reward the best journalists in Texas, but to nurture and encourage all members of the industry."

Information on each of these award winners, along with judges' comments and links to the award-winning stories, is posted on the Foundation website at www.headlinersfoundation.org..

-30-

**About The Headliners Foundation of Texas:** Founded in 1983, the Headliners Foundation of Texas is a 501(c)(3) that promotes excellence in journalism by providing scholarships to promising undergraduate journalism and communication students; recognizing outstanding works of journalism and leaders in the industry; and sponsoring special projects that promote journalistic excellence and preserve history.